Home  |  About MVT

Explore A Masonic Lodge  |  Add Your Lodge  |  What Is A Free Mason  |  Become A Free Mason  |  Links


Mount Tom Lodge A.F. & A.M.



235 Chestnut Street
Holyoke, MA 01041 - Map
Meeting Information:
First Friday of each month between September and June
Contact Information:
Peter Wintheiser, Masonic Ambassador
Mount Tom Lodge, A. F. & A. M., came into existence on March 4, 1850, the same year that Holyoke, Massachusetts became a town. The first meeting place of the Lodge was in a small rented room owned by the Holyoke Lodge of Odd Fellows in Pecks Block, on a lot adjoining the present Bank of Boston building. On August 18, 1852 the meetings of the Mount Tom Lodge came to an abrupt and unexpected halt due to a fire on the premises. As a result of this fire, the lodge was forced to take up residence in Carter's Block and remained there until 1895. In 1863 the lodge became civic minded and loaned $180.00 to the first Fire Department of Holyoke. The next location for the lodge was at the Hubbard and Taber Block on High Street, where the Lodge Room was dedicated on December 27, 1895. In 1913 the Holyoke Masonic Association purchased our present lot for $13,000. On September 11, 1920, the laying of the corner stone for the New Masonic Temple took place.

Mount Tom Lodge has had two lodges grow out from it, William Whiting Lodge on January 7, 1909 and Mount Nonotuck on March 4, 1920.
Lodge Instituted:
More Pictures:
Click Here



Masonic Virtual Tours ~ design by ClosetMix